Leadership Updates: Steering Committee and Seed Fund Steering Committee

Northeast Big Data Innovation Hub

Dear Northeast Hub Community,

As new program activities launch under our second phase of NSF funding, we are delighted to welcome new community members to our leadership team who will help guide the Hub forward, and to thank those whose service has helped us reach this point. Following a search made by our project team last month, we are pleased to welcome John Goodhue of the Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center, Carsten Eickhoff of Brown University, and Laura Dietz of the University of New Hampshire to our Steering Committee. The Steering Committee plays an active role in advancing the mission of the Hub and broadly represents the interests of Hub stakeholders, and our new members bring a wealth of experience to their roles. Learn more about their backgrounds at our leadership page, and please join us in welcoming them to the team.

We also thank our current Steering Committee members whose terms are concluding. Vasant Honavar and Andrew McCallum have both provided outstanding commitment to the Northeast Big Data Hub, with each of them serving on the Steering Committee since our first phase. Both will continue as co-PIs on our NSF award #1916585, and Vasant will additionally transition in a new role representing the Northeast Big Data Hub on the National Coordinating Committee. Many thanks to both for their leadership and guidance.

As part of our second phase, the Hub will administer an annual Seed Fund of $250,000 to support community activities in data science. We are pleased to announce that David Bader of NJIT has agreed to serve as our Inaugural Seed Fund Steering Committee Chair, and is working with the Executive Director’s Office on a search for committee members. We look forward to sharing more details on the Seed Fund in the coming months.

On behalf of the Hub, many thanks to all of our leadership and constituents, for everything you do. You make our community stronger.


Jeannette Wing Principal Investigator

Florence Hudson Interim Executive Director



David A. Bader
David A. Bader
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Data Science

David A. Bader is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at New Jersey Institute of Technology.