CRA Announces Four New Board Members

There are four new additions to the CRA Board of Directors. David A. Bader, Georgia Institute of Technology, is the new IEEE-CS Representative. Julia Hirschberg, Columbia University, and P. Takis Metaxas, Wellesley College, replace members who resigned, and their terms end June 30, 2014. Henry Kautz, University of Rochester, is the new AAAI representative.

David Bader

David A. Bader is a Full Professor in the School of Computational Science and Engineering, College of Computing, at Georgia Institute of Technology, and Executive Director for High Performance Computing. Dr. Bader is a lead scientist in the DARPA Ubiquitous High Performance Computing (UHPC) program. He received his Ph.D. in 1996 from The University of Maryland, and his research is supported through highly-competitive research awards, primarily from NSF, NIH, DARPA, and DOE. He was elected as chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP) and as chair of the SIAM Activity Group in Supercomputing (SIAG/SC). Bader is a Fellow of the IEEE and AAAS, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award recipient, and has received numerous industrial awards. Bader is a co-founder of the Graph500 List for benchmarking “Big Data” computing platforms. Bader is recognized as a “RockStar” of High Performance Computing by InsideHPC and as HPCwire’s People to Watch in 2012

Julia Hirschberg

Julia Hirschberg is a professor in the Department of Computer Science at Columbia University. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Pennsylvania, after completing a Ph.D. in sixteenth-century Mexican social history at the University of Michigan and teaching history at Smith. She worked at Bell Laboratories and AT&T Laboratories — Research from 1985-2003, creating the Human-Computer Interface Research Department there. She served as editor-in-chief of Computational Linguistics and Speech Communication. She was on the Executive Board of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL), has been on the Permanent Council of International Conference on Spoken Language Processing (ICSLP) since 1996, and served on the board of the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA) from. She is currently on the board of the CRA-W and has been active in working for diversity at AT&T and at Columbia. She is a Fellow of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence, an ISCA Fellow, and an ACL Fellow. She received an Honorary Doctorate (Hedersdoktor) from KTH, a Columbia Engineering School Alumni Association (CESAA) Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award in 2009, the IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award and the ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement in 2011.

Henry Kautz

Henry Kautz is Professor Chair of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Rochester. He performs research in knowledge representation, machine learning, pervasive computing, and assistive technology. His academic degrees include an A.B. in mathematics from Cornell University, an M.A. in Creative Writing from the Johns Hopkins University, an M.Sc. in Computer Science from the University of Toronto, and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Rochester. He was a researcher and department head at Bell Labs and AT&T Laboratories until becoming a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering of the University of Washington in 2000. He joined University of Rochester in 2006. He was President (2010-2012) of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, and is a Fellow of the AAAI, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a recipient of the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award.

P. Takis Metaxas

P. Takis Metaxas studied Mathematics at the University of Athens and Computer Science at Brown University. He received his Masters of Science and Ph. D. in Computer Science from Dartmouth, and has been a visiting scientist at MIT and the Sydney University in Australia. He is currently a Computer Science professor at Wellesley College, where he founded the Media Arts and Sciences program, and also at Harvard, where he is a Visiting Scholar and Affiliate at the Center for Research on Computation and Society (CRCS). Metaxas is a senior member of the ACM, and a member of LACS, IEEE Computer Society, SIGWEB, SIGCSE and SIGACT’s Electronic Publication Board. He is on the Advisory Board of XRDS and a Guest Editor for the special issue of the Internet Research Journal on “The Power of Prediction with Social Media” and of the Special Issue of the Journal “Kunstliche Intelligenz KI” on Social Media.

David A. Bader
David A. Bader
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Data Science

David A. Bader is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at New Jersey Institute of Technology.