CS Members Elevated to Fellows

Seventy IEEE Computer Society members will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2010. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 309 members to Fellow status. Computer Society members recommended for Fellow status in 2010 include:

  1. Tinku Acharya
  2. Raj Acharya
  3. Charu Aggarwal
  4. Srinivas Aluru
  5. David Bader
  6. Grady Booch
  7. Athman Bouguettaya
  8. Lionel Briand
  9. Douglas Burger
  10. Srimat Chakradhar
  11. Stefano Chiaverini
  12. Thomas Cloonan
  13. Laurent Cohen
  14. Ray Dolby
  15. Ahmed El-Magarmid
  16. Elmootazbellah Elnozahy
  17. Mário Figueiredo
  18. William Gropp
  19. Baining Guo
  20. Richard Hartley
  21. Yutaka Hata
  22. Joseph Hellerstein
  23. James Hendler
  24. John Impagliazzo
  25. Yannis Ioannidis
  26. Dimitrios Ioannou
  27. David Kaeli
  28. Andrew Kahng
  29. Matti Karjalainen
  30. Nikola Kasabov
  31. David Keezer
  32. Fanny Klett
  33. Andrew Laine
  34. Kwei-Jay Lin
  35. Chih-Min (Jimmy) Lin
  36. John C.S. Lui
  37. Kevin Lynch
  38. Margaret Martonosi
  39. Peter Marwedel
  40. Peter Maxwell
  41. Mark Maybury
  42. Dejan Milojicic
  43. Joseph Mitola
  44. Prasant Mohapatra
  45. Eliot Moss
  46. Robin Murphy
  47. Ashwini Nanda
  48. Lynne Parker
  49. Larry Peterson
  50. Jonathon Phillips
  51. Keshav Pingali
  52. Chunming Qiao
  53. Long Quan
  54. Anand Raghunathan
  55. Al Reddy
  56. Michael Scott
  57. Timoleon Sellis
  58. Malcolm Slaney
  59. Asim Smailagic
  60. Aravind Srinivasan
  61. Heinrich Stuttgen
  62. Jie Tian
  63. Nian-Feng Tzeng
  64. Nitin Vaidya
  65. Amitabh Varshney
  66. Yi-Min Wang
  67. Shumpei Yamazaki
  68. Qing Yang
  69. Feng Zhao
  70. Xinhua Zhuang

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information online visit http://www.ieee.org/fellowprogram. To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to http://www.ieee.org/web/membership/fellows/Societies/COMP.html

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology. The Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, certifications, and online courses.


David A. Bader
David A. Bader
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Data Science

David A. Bader is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at New Jersey Institute of Technology.