UNM Professor Bader selected as speaker for national program

UNM Mirage

David A. Bader, assistant professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, has been selected as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society Distinguished Speaker. Bader is named to a group of about three dozen speakers from throughout the country and will serve a three-year term.

“I am honored that I have been nominated and selected for this prestigious program,” Bader said. “As a distinguished speaker, I will have the support to visit with IEEE Computer Society student and professional chapters and give presentations related to my high-performance computing research.”

Bader said this is an exciting way to disseminate his students’ and his latest results from research sponsored by the National Science Foundation and collaborations with industrial partners such as IBM, Sun and Myricom.

Bader said he looks forward to representing UNM in North America and around the world, and plans to encourage students to pursue research-oriented careers at institutions such as UNM.

“The University of New Mexico is in the company of some of the top computing departments and professionals by our participation in the program; this award truly distinguishes UNM as an international leader in computer science and engineering,” Bader said.

In the program, IEEE chapters can request Bader as a speaker at any given time. Bader said he will limit his travel to once a month and will arrange travel only during days when he is not teaching.

The program, initiated in 1971 by Dr. Stephen Yau, a professor and chairman of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Arizona State University, offers first quality speakers serving IEEE Computer Society professional and student chapters, and speakers are recognized authorities in their respective fields.


David A. Bader
David A. Bader
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Data Science

David A. Bader is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at New Jersey Institute of Technology.